Near South Planning Board
Enter your email address to receive general news, updates and information.
Harold Washington Literary
Award & Dinner

The Award
The Harold Washington Literary Award recognizes diverse and stimulating authors who address issues of contemporary life. The award's goal is to present examples to the public of creative uses of the written word.

This prestigious award has been given annually since 1989 by Near South Planning Board.

Near South Planning Board Honors

Rabih Alameddine

The Harold Washington Literary Award Dinner will take place on:
Thursday, June 7, 2018
The Union League Club
65 W. Jackson Boulevard

Cocktails at 6:00 p.m.
Dinner & Presentation at 7:00 p.m. - Main Dining Room

Dinner Committee: Dinner Co-Chair: Joe Antunovich, President, Antunovich Associates;
Vice Chair: Shelly Griggs-Parrilli, James McHugh Construction

Dr. Arol Augsburger, Illinois College of Optometry; Fran Casey, DePaul University; Kate Curler, Union League Club of Chicago; Anthony Kramer, Draper and Kramer; Stephen Ross, AMLI Residential; Anamaria Spiteri, Whelan Security
Selection Committee Chair:Donna Seaman, Booklist

Harold Washington Literary Award Dinner

Harold Washington Literary Award & Dinner 2016 Photos
Thursday, June 9, 2016
rbarcenas4's 2016 Harold Washington Literary Award album on Photobucket

Past Recipients of the HWLA include:
Rita Dove (2017)
Marilynne Robinson (2016)
Edward P. Jones (2015)
Stuart Dybek (2014),
Art Spiegelman (2013),
Sara Paretsky (2012),
Edwidge Danticat (2011),
Barbara Ehrenreich (2010),
Dave Eggers (2009),
Scott Turow (2008),
Walter Mosley (2007),
E.L. Doctorow (2006),
Garrison Keillor (2005),
Jules Feiffer (2004),
Margaret Atwood (2003),
Grace Paley (2002),
August Wilson (2001),
John Hope Franklin (2000),
Robert Pinsky (1999),
Joseph Epstein (1998),
Cynthia Ozick (1997),
Isabel Allende (1996),
Doris Kearns Goodwin (1995),
Zbigniew Brzezinski (1994),
Garry Willis (1993),
Ralph Ellison (1992),
Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. (1991),
Saul Bellow, Ray Bradbury, Gwendolyn Brooks, Cyrus Colter, William
Maxwell, Studs Terkel (1990),
Susan Sontag (1989).
Event Calendar
Harold Washington Literary Dinner